Kubernetes architecture: What’s in the box?


Kubernetes is a complex system to understand and, if you’re like me, you might find that you understand things better when they’re explained visually.

So I’ve put together this Kubernetes architecture diagram, to show all of the components, and how they fit together.

Kubernetes architecture diagram
The key components in a Kubernetes cluster
(Tutorial Works)

The most important things I would say here are:

  • The Nodes - which run Pods (containers)

  • The Kubelet - these are the clever workers that run on each node, and manage the containers running on that node

  • The Control Plane - which resides across multiple nodes and contains the components used to manage the cluster.

  • The API Server - which is the way that you & the Kubelets interact with the cluster.

Hope you found this brief look at Kubernetes architecture useful! If you want to learn more, then check out the components page on the official Kubernetes website.